May 8, 2012

Cage Dress – it’s happening, D*C 2012. It’s happening.

Posted in Crafty Liz, Dragon Con 2012 at 8:11 pm by wangeli

I think I’ve mentioned my fondness for Apocalypse Steampunk before, but just in case, here are my thoughts again.

What I think is really fascinating and fun and it wonder what you would use to make clothes if the Apocalypse had happened and there weren’t any factories or stores anymore. What would you use if all of the “clothes” were gone? Or if you didn’t feel bound to use fabric, what would catch your eye. Hence my paper skirt outfit. It probably helps that I’m crazy fond of Mad Max and movies like that… They provide a lot of inspiration.

So my next project is making a cage dress. I’ve gathered quite a few ideas and there was a design student on Cut Out + Keep that posted a really amazing outfit that I think I can really use as a template. Now to make it Apocalypse Punk, I plan to raid the hardware store to get supplies…. But before I start my shopping trip, here are my inspiration pictures. I’m leaning towards a mix of a hoop skirt and a corset and a cage dress.

Leave a Reply

