March 28, 2012

Dragon Con Outfits: Lady Mechanika

Posted in Dragon Con 2012, Steampunk at 8:19 pm by wangeli

Sorry it’s been so long since I’ve written anything… I bet you aren’t surprised, are you?

Did you know that the human body needs to consume half of their body weight in water? And soda, tea, coffee, etc doesn’t count. I wasn’t really aware of that – and if you know me, then you know I probably don’t consume that much in fluids much less in water. Well apparently, that can lead to some jenky health issues. But enough about that…

It’s never to soon to start planning outfits for DragonCon. In fact, I’m apparently, yet again getting a late start. But at least I’ve been thinking about it – that’s got to count for something.

Let’s start with my latest obsession first. So last year, I did a Girl Genius tribute outfit (I still love Girl Genius btw – I just don’t know if I want to try to die my hair red again – since it was unsuccessful before). I really enjoyed doing an outfit that other people could recognize and I like doing literary characters over movie characters. Enter my newest fav – Lady Mechanika. She’s a pretty kick ass detective with a mechanical arm and red eyes. And she rocks the bowler, vest combo. Don’t worry if you haven’t heard of her – she’s from a fairly new comic book that didn’t blow up until issue 2/3. Well it’s a pretty intimidating project to tackle that will take me far out of my comfort zone. But hey, at least I’m thinking about giving it a try!

So here are the reference pictures. It helps a ton that Joe Benitez (the comic’s creator) drew a ton of inspiration from Steampunk superstar Kato. So yeah, there are a few shots of her in this collection:

Leave a Reply

