January 15, 2012

Practice makes Perfect

Posted in Crafty Liz, Edwardian Ball, Steampunk at 3:53 pm by wangeli

Not that I’m super excited about this upcoming Edwardian Ball thing, but instead of just jumping into making my outfit, I bought a few yards of muslim, a pattern or two and decided to make a practice skirt. You know that old sewing motto – Measure twice, cut once? Well I’m not that sort of girl. I’m more of the “Never measures and then is shocked when nothing turns out like it should” type. But I’m taking this project seriously – because I’m excited and I want to look good… And I’m more than a little worried about the whole LA thing… So yeah – I did a little practicing. I still didn’t measure, but at least I didn’t mess up anything too important 🙂

So here are a few pictures of the practice. All in all, I think it turned out pretty well. And I want you to know that I’m using 2 of my Christmas gifts from this year and one from a few years back – my dressmaker’s form, my brand new Chalk Pencil and (of course) my sewing machine. Thanks Rebecca, Jenn and Mom!

Leave a Reply

