January 3, 2012

Dressing for Edwardian Ball

Posted in Crafty Liz, Edwardian Ball, Steampunk at 3:11 pm by wangeli

Getting Started:

It’s super important to have a plan of attack when you start a new outfit for a geeky outfit. Even more important when you don’t have any clue about what you’re trying to make. Ideally I wish I also had money, time and skill. But hey, you work with what you’ve got and an idea of what I want to make will do in a pinch…

Phase 1 – Inspiration:

You’ve already seen what everyone else has worn in the past. All pretty cool stuff… made by experts or bought by people with money…. yes, I’m a tad bit envious. But at least I’ve got an idea of what to try to make.

And I’ve already got the very first piece of my outfit, which was one of my Christmas gifts from Andrew. He got me a really fantastic underbust corset from Damsel in this Dress on Etsy.

Christmas gift from Andrew!

So I’ve got the corset, but I need a top and skirt. And I’ll probably need to make the skirt. Now since it’s a classy party – I want to rock a bustle in the back. And because I’m not a classy girl, I want a short skirt in the front. Don’t worry, I have pictures to explain what I’m talking about.

As for a top – I’ve got no clue. I like the top that the Etsy seller made with this corset and I’ve seen some instructions on Cut Out and Keep for a similar shirt, so I might try to make one. Or I might buy a big ruffle-y shirt.

And that’s the game plan. Yeah, I don’t have a lot of specifics… which means this probably doesn’t count as plan, does it? But I’ve got some pictures! And here they are:

So now all I have to do is pick out a skirt, find a pattern to convert, get fabric and start working… I wish I could get my hands on one of these patterns from Truly Victorian.

Leave a Reply

