August 2, 2011

Paper Skirt – Part 5

Posted in Crafty Liz, Dragon Con 2011 at 6:58 pm by wangeli

So as you saw in the last post, I got the bottom of my outfit done (ish). And for the top I wanted to rock a harness over a t-shirt or tank top. (I haven’t decided yet – but I definitely need a top of some sort) Well way back in Part 1, I showed you the awesome harness that Steampunk Couture created. I deduced that I could make something similar (but not nearly as cool) with a few belts and a grommet kit. I stalked yard sales and weird creepy thrift stores and finally found a bunch of plain, wide-ish belts on sale at Target. So I used 2 and cut them up to make the top straps. I figured out pretty quickly that I did not have the thumb strength to sew my straps in to place. So I used my awesome grommeting device to punch holes into my belts and then I just tied the holes together – all 8-year-old craft style. Yeah that’s right- I was the girl scout who totally got the merit badge for tying things together.

I still need to make some adjustments, so I don’t look like a crossing guard. But I still have my awesome grommeting device. It makes me happy!

Punches Holes in EVERYTHING

 

Leave a Reply

